Alex Schleber:

If you truly would like feedback, you can’t make it a covert Listbuilding exercise.
Give first, THEN ask/get…

Best wishes – Alex

A coach on a major Social Networking site:

(Specialties: Relationship Marketing, Social Media, Effective Marketing for Small Businesses who want to grow with the times)

I don’t follow your comments Alex.

You have a choice to enter your email for the report and then remove yourself from the list. You can choose to stay on the list to see what happens next because the content you received was good, worthwhile and you would like some more.

You can decide that you don’t want to enter your email to get the information.

But the choice is yours!

What I am asking for is an address in payment for sitting down and writing a report of over 20 pages so you can accelerate your learning and application of this new tool.

This is reciprocity – an exchange. But with reciprocity, the level of positive impact decreases with time – so what starts with good intentions lessens over time as more other stuff comes into the person’s life. This is why asking for an email address prior to getting report is used.

That is also why trainers ask for evaluations of the training days at the end of the day because even though people are on a high – that high decreases each second and the intention of completing the training evaluation form also lessens.

You can also use this for your services payment model.

When considering services and referrals (another form of requesting feedback!), this is usually done after the customer has experienced the service or product and usually after payment has been made.

One doesn’t usually give the service, ask for a referral and then get paid.

One of the conundrums around services is once consumed, it can not be returned. It’s finished, perished and as a supplier, how do you get payment afterwards when there may not be an immediate benefit?

This goes for reading material and learning new skills.

This brings me back to the report. I give content that will save you time searching and doing trial and error in exchange for an email address. This is part of reciprocity.

List building are not dirty words nor a dirty activity. Every business needs to be generating leads before they get sales.

After this response, which I view as somewhat of a social media FAIL in and of itself, I replied back privately. I am posting all of this not to pick on this coach (name withheld), but to make a point about how to properly use use social media for promoting your business.

We are ALL still learning this stuff because it’s so brand new:

“…, presumably this is a forum for coaches, and presumably you asked for our feedback on your report (or maybe in hindsight I misinterpreted that), NOT to convert us into your clients (yet).

Where does the “in payment for” part come from then? In the end, you will do what you do, which is completely fine by me, only from my experience (and yes, I’m on Twitter too: http://twitter.com/alexschleber ), this kind of approach just doesn’t work too well in SOCIAL media.

See, I don’t know you yet, and instead of me getting to know you and your work, you put an artificial barrier of sorts into place. If your stuff is truly good, or even ground-breaking, I’d follow you on Twitter without further prompting, and yes, maybe even sign up for your mailing list. Only you made it so that fewer people will ever know.

More steps create more complexity and less response/conversion. Again, I don’t know you from Adam as they say, and you put a cost of time plus my email address on getting to know you better.

All I am saying is that this is slowing down your reach/spread (especially since there are tons of great posts right now that provide the information you are trying to get an email for for “free”). Probably not what you intended.

Instead of me giving you feedback and maybe even endorsements (and guess what, I will still sign up for your list, scan your report, and even give you feedback just so you understand that I am not saying any of this to antagonize you, but because I care), plus us having a social media connection, you put an element of hard-boiled internet marketing into place that could easily prevent all of this (and I’m all for IM, I have squeeze pages too, just not as the first point of contact in a SOCIAL CONTEXT).

Plus in a sense, I’ve already given you some feedback, about your opt-in approach (you could have made the optin optional for example), and I’m hereby giving you more feedback, question is whether you really wanted to hear any.

Check out this post about social media + promo activities:
http://businessmindhacks.com/post/update-google-changed-the-game-for-youtube-monetization
(it’s completely free from me to you)

Best wishes – Alex”

What do YOU think?

Was I wrong to have given this feedback? Am I right on? What lessons for your own social media promo activities would you take from this exchange. Post your comments below:

