… We’re beginning to explore ways to make content smarter, to understand what you’ve read, which device you’ve read it on and your micro level interests—making the most important news find you, instead of you having to find it.

This also changes the advertising model where ads become even smarter. Sure, ads are at about a 1st grade reading level now; with adsense and cookies, the ad networks have half an idea of what I’m interested in, but they aren’t exactly smart about it. …

So what does this have to do with a Twitter business model? Twitter, potentially, has the ability to deliver unbelievably smart advertising; advertising that I actually want to see, and they have the ability to deliver search results far superior and more accurate to Google, ****putting Twitter in the running to beat Google in the latent quest to the semantic web.****

… , they could give me ads that makes sense not for something I looked at 3 weeks ago, or a link my wife clicked on when she borrowed my laptop, but ads that are extremely relevant to ‘what I’m doing right now’.

A quick perusal of  my Tweets shows… a treasure trove of data about me, and it’s semantic on a granular level about only my interests.

My *** highlights.

Also compare what I wrote here:
http://businessmindhacks.com/post/is-advertising-failing-on-the-internet

“I would argue that none of the major “Old Media” players online (or for that matter none of the “New Media” either) are anywhere close to having efficiently monetized their page views. Everyone is still clumsily fumbling around when it comes to intelligent targeting of ads, both as to offer theme, as well as to offer pricing.


This is astonishing, when all it really takes is some common sense about selling people stuff that makes sense in the CONTEXT of what they were already doing.

First, let’s get clear on the fact that an article or opinion piece in e.g. the New York Times provides a lot more pointers as to readers’ state of mind/interest than most Google queries ever could (as do Web videos posted on such sites), so the failure to target properly is in part simply a form of laziness.”

