YOU ARE MAKING A HUGE MISTAKE IF YOU ARE NOT PERSONALIZING AS MUCH AS POSSIBLE.

I suddenly realized how closed and impersonal I had become in my copy, and how I had alienated much of my audience because of it.

I realized that, no matter how I may feel or think, in order to become a trusted advisor to my prospects and customers I needed to open up more about me, about my family, and about my life outside of Strategic Profits. And if I opened the curtain a little, they would most likely respond very positively.

In other words, John [Carlton] reached out from that sheet of paper, slapped me upside the head and said: “Yo Schefren…take a lesson from Karen Carpenter. They long to be ‘closer to you’. So LET ‘EM!”

I made a vow right then and there–I was going to create a stronger bond with my audience.

So I started focusing more on empathizing with them, understanding their situations, feelings, and motives. I dug deep to find out what kept them up at night…what gnawed at their very core…and how my products could help solve that.

Then I immersed myself into their conversations. I studied the forums and social networking sites they frequented. I made note of the buzzwords they tossed out. I wanted to learn the language they spoke, so I could talk to them more effectively on their level.

Finally, I just tried to be myself.

This stuff is so crucial, yet also so easily forgotten…

We all can get caught up in the process of what Eben Pagan has called “playing business”, and as a result become more impersonal.

Even though we hate it when other companies/etc. do it to us!

